This past week I discovered (thanks to my fantastic foodie client, Dorit) an absolutely tasty way to serve shrimp. It was given to me verbally and in the simplest terms-you use the ingredients to taste. In other words, I can’t tell you the amount of everything I used but it is so easy to make that you can just add more of whatever pleases you until it is done to your liking! I made it for my husband on V-Day and we both LOVED it! Because it was so easy and healthy, it will definitely become a staple in our house.

Here it is:

Simple Tasty Shrimp

Frozen Wild* Shrimp (I usually get about 1/2 pound per person but up to you! Make sure it is frozen)

Olive Oil (You are going to want to use enough that you have a soupy dish at the end for dipping  the bread in it)

Lots of Lemon (I used two for the two of us but if you love lemon, you may want more)

Lots of Garlic (I always use a lot but again the amount is up to you. I’d say at least 2 or 3 cloves)

Fresh chopped Cilantro (again, you are the judge of how much you use. I probably used about a 1/4-1/2 of a bunch)

Crushed Red Pepper (depends on how much kick you want!)

Sea salt and pepper to taste (I also included some lemon pepper which I often add to dishes with lemon)

Fresh baguette of your choice

*Try to get frozen WILD shrimp as there are more and more studies being done on how bad farm-raised shrimp is for us. Click here for some health facts. Trader Joe’s sells some that are tasty and reasonably priced in the frozen section.

Literally, all you need to do is heat up your pan, add the garlic and olive oil and when it is hot, put in the other ingredients! Once the shrimp is fully cooked (which is a matter of a couple of minutes tops), taste the sauce and add more of whatever you think is missing. And that is all!!!

I served it with a delicious baguette and some steamed broccoli with crushed red pepper but you can serve it with whatever you like! It would be yummy with pasta or rice, too!

Let me know if you try it and if you come up with any variations (perhaps with some white wine added to it?) and thank you, Dorit, for the great recipe!

