Recently I was asked to write posts for an awesome new health food company called, NatureBox. NatureBox offers a monthly subscription program that provides you with a monthly box full of healthy snack foods to enjoy between meals. Some of the snacks include: trail mix, granola, nuts and dried fruits and they are made with simple, natural ingredients. The company delivers these healthy snacks to people around the country that may not have easy access to natural food stores such as Whole Foods, Sprouts, etc…or for those who like the convenience of having great snacks sent directly to their doorstep each month.

What we snack on makes all the difference in our health. It’s important to eat often to keep blood sugar levels constant (rather than spiking and dropping) but what we eat for snacks is equally important. Rather than reaching for the salty potato chips or afternoon pastry, try to grab something that adds nutritional benefits to your day.

So, in honor of my new relationship with NatureBox, here are some of my favorite snacks – please share yours too, as we can all use more healthy ideas:

  • Avocado on toast or rice cakes (with or without butter): This is one of my favorites. It’s fast to make, super tasty and full of healthy fat.
  • Hummus and cut up raw veggies, and/or rice crackers (I also love buying a fresh olive tapenade at my farmer’s market to eat with veggies or crackers)
  • Cheese and crackers (I love goat cheddar but there are so many to choose from!)
  • A healthy bowl of plain cereal such as puffed brown rice with your favorite milk (watch out for the ones that have sugar and preservatives such as BHT)
  • Celery sticks (or apple slices) with your favorite nut butter (almond, cashew, peanut, sunflower all make great ones!) Create “Ants on a log” with some raisins, too!
  • Homemade or store-bought trail mix; I love to make my own as so many of the ones on the market are either filled with sugar or salt so I mix the following ingredients in a glass jar:                                                                                                                   Raw sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, slivered almonds, cacao, coconut flakes, goji berries, mulberries, goldenberries (for the berries, I use the pre-made bag by Navitas from Whole Foods) and raisins. Sprinkle in some sea salt and you’ve got a yummy, healthy, antioxidant-rich trail mix that you can stash in your car or purse when you need a quick pick me up!
  • Any nuts and seeds make a great snack all on their own, too!
  • Yogurt and cottage cheese also make for an easy, protein-rich snack, too!
  • Deli meat (I prefer turkey) on rice cakes or bread with fresh basil and tomato (and your favorite mustard or cheese if you like)…yum!
  • Protein shakes are always easy and filling and can be made (I love ordering them at my gym)
  • Hard-boiled eggs –make a batch at the beginning of the week (I find boiling for 8 minutes is perfect if you don’t want them completely cooked through)
  • Healthy energy snack bars for on the go: I wrote an entire post on the best ones out there. Check it out for some ideas: Finding the Perfect Energy Bar

Happy snacking!

Written by Lana House

Studio Owner, House Pilates

